BITPHONIC

Frog Eyes / Upbeat

leave a comment »

Frog Eyes’ The Golden River has been on repeat lately in my headphones at work. It’s a brain-defying album of absolutely maddening genius. Carey Mercer groans and howls like some terrifying monster, spitting venomous stories of cities and civilizations in decline. The music veers from jagged rock bombasticism to death carnival jaunts, all pounding keyboards, stuttering percussion, and dry, spastic guitars. It’s an odd thing to be listening to while at work – doing system administration tasks, reading emails, and log files – but it sure puts a fire under my ass. “Maybe we’re fated for the bottom frozen lake.”

In related news, last night, I had this unstoppable beat in my head, and had to exorcise it, lay it down in Reason. Then I just hammmered my brain to write music. Over and over and over again. It was a painful process, one that found me cursing aloud a couple of times. I even threw in a little distorted Rhodes on the end. I don’t even know if I particularly like what I’ve come up with, but I guess that is the rub with songwriting. Which brings me back to Frog Eyes. Every song on The Golden River sounds spontaneous and natural, born from a couple of sessions with a group of insane geniuses. Argh!

Anyway, here’s a link to that thing I worked on. Tenatively titled “On the Upbeat” for that little stutter part on the fourth measure:

http://www.obeysignal.com/adam/songs/upbeat.mp3

Written by Adam N. Copeland

March 9, 2006 - 11:02 am at 11:02 am

Posted in music

Leave a Reply

