BITPHONIC

Re-zero

leave a comment »

Time once again to assess what I’ve accomplished.

I’ve got a nice new title at work, and a nice new salary. Lots of big words, but overall I’ve been grateful for the opportunity to keep working where I’m at (and for more pay). Do I like it? Not really. Working there gives me the freedom to pursue things in my out-of-work life I really love doing.  However, I can’t shake the feeling that I would be much happier making less money doing what I love to do for a living.

That said, let’s assess:

In the last month I came up with a cover and insert layout for the 4-song demo we Meltdowns are going to be hocking to venues all over the tri-state area. We also had a show in Sussex County that I would chalk up as a total failure, except that the good people of out West took a shine to our tunes.

I’ve made some feeble attempts at getting Tank Crash off the ground. Billy has put a lot of his time into assembling packages for the ZD album, and sending them out into the aether. I honestly feel like I’m taking a well-deserved break from that for a little while, as I spent the better part of two months mixing it, and two more with the art and printers. I’ve emailed a few music blogs, and the reception has been nothing but the cold shoulder.*

I enrolled myself in February Album Writing Month. I’m typically fatalistic and my normal instincts would tell me to stay away from something like that. But, I figured it couldn’t hurt to throw my hat in the ring. Unfortunately, I can’t seem to motivate myself to do anything but sleep  and drink this month, so I’ve done two or three things in fragments, but exactly zero complete tunes. I don’t even have a short recording I can post here.

Meh. So there it is. Clichéd indeed. Sending pessimistic messages off into the cesspool of the Internet. Private thought filtered for public consumption.
*Tangent: I get this creeping feeling that there’s more Pay to Play bullshit going on behind the scenes. Not because the blogs won’t play our stuff, but because I can’t even get a “yes” or “no” answer back from anybody. Just swept under the rug. It’s a fucked up thing to work hard for almost half a year on something, building it completely from scratch, and wanting to share it with others – only to see it passed over by everybody. People whose opinions you trust gloss over or don’t reply. Blogs push the new Morningwood album because Capitol Records slid them a few hundred bucks. I would honestly rather hear “your CD fucking sucks” than silence.

Written by Adam N. Copeland

February 16, 2006 - 2:59 pm at 2:59 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

